Structure and Roles:



The role of the members is to hold the board of trustees to account for the successful governance of the Trust. Members usually meet once per year at the Trust’s AGM.

Current members of Tregolls School – An Academy are:

Judith Smitham

Nick Vincent

Sam Walker

Elizabeth Seale



The role of the trustees can be summarised by three core functions:

-          Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

-          Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff;

-          Overseeing the financial performance of the Trust and making sure its money is well spent.


Trustees are more commonly referred to as governors, and are appointed or elected according to the Trust’s Articles of Association. The following trustees sit on the governing board of Tregolls School – An Academy:


Judith Smitham (Chair) – appointed by members

Dawn Howarth (Vice Chair) – co-opted by trustees

Rob Adams (Headteacher) - appointed by members

James Davidson – appointed by Sponsor

David Parker – co-opted by trustees

Elizabeth Phillips – appointed by members

Simon Rogers – elected by parents

Clare Hutchison - appointed by members

Lesley Shirley - elected by parents

Lisa Smith Walker - co-opted by trustees


The governing board operates a Finance, Audit & Pay Committee and a Curriculum Committee. Members of these committees are listed below.



The governing board operates a Finance, Audit & Pay Committee. Members of this committee are Judith Smitham, Simon Rogers.



Since academisation in 2012, Tregolls School – An Academy has been sponsored by Penair School, St Clement’s Hill, Truro, TR1 1TN.


  • Mrs Lara Jeffries


    Lara joined the school in September 2019. Previously having opened and led a brand new school in Warwickshire, which quickly gained an excellent reputation in the area. Lara moved back to Cornwall, where she grew up, and is now proud to lead Tregolls forward to become a beacon of outstanding education in Truro.

  • Mrs Judith Smitham

    Chair of Governors

    Born and educated in Truro, Judith worked for eight years as the area manager for a group of Spar stores covering west Cornwall before returning to the city. Married with two grown up daughters, Judith has been the owner and sub-postmaster of Trelander Stores for 18 years and is committed to the community. Judith owns a number of businesses in and around Truro and works with local secondary schools offering work experience and apprenticeship opportunities for young people and is passionate about making a difference. She also sits on the board of the Truro Community Land Trust, which was set up to provide affordable housing for young families in Truro.

  • Mr James Davidson


    James is the Headteacher at Penair School. He started his teaching career in 1999 at Humphry Davy School in Penzance and has lived in Cornwall ever since. He worked as Director of Sport and Assistant Headteacher at Mounts Bay Academy and as First Deputy Headteacher at the Roseland Community College before being appointed Headteacher at Penair in 2015. As someone for whom education has made a real difference, he is thrilled to be leading a school which provides such fantastic opportunities to young people in the Truro area. James lives in Perranporth with his wife and young daughter and completely understand why, as parents, we want the very best for our children. Despite his busy day job, he continues to pursue competitive sport, including surfing, triathlon and golf.

  • Mrs Dawn Howarth

    Safeguarding Governor

    Dawn has been a school governor in Cornwall for many years, including serving as a Vice-chair and Chair. She has a degree in English & Related Literature from York University and spent 10 years working in the London publishing industry as an editor and literary agent. After her own happy Cornish childhood she was keen to raise her family in Cornwall and returned in 2001 setting up a literary services business and teaching Creative Writing to adult students. A change of direction took place in 2010 when she trained as a children’s yoga teacher in order to put the wellbeing and good mental and physical health of children at the centre of her work. She has taught yoga and meditation in a number of schools in the county and intends to train next to teach mindfulness in schools. Dawn is a Trustee of the Children’s Clinic for Cornwall and a member of the Friends of Daubuz Moor. She has three children and lives with her husband in Truro.

    Dawn is the Governing Board’s Safeguarding Governor.

  • Mrs Elizabeth Phillips


  • Mr David Parker

  • Mr Simon Rogers

  • Mrs Clare Hutchison

  • Mrs Lisa Smith Walker

  • Mrs Lesley Shirley